Showing posts with label Hubris. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hubris. Show all posts

Friday, June 22, 2007

South Philly = Rhodes, cont...


So, you remember the previously posted here story about a pack of frothing idiots who think putting a couple 400 ft. towers at Broad and Washington will revitalize South Philadelphia.

Well, the same developer who wants to build those big steel phalli also annexed an entire sidewalk along South Street next to his nearly completed enormous eyesore monument to gentrification. To build a diabled access ramp for the 1st floor shops. That actually more closely resembles a terrace. That people in wheelchairs can't access, because, well, the sidewalk is too narrow for wheelchairs. Because of the access ramp this idiot built. Without zoning approval. Do yourself a favor: don't read those sentences again, or think about them too much - it can cause brain damage.

Of course, brain damage would qualify you for a seat on Philadelphia's city council, right down the row from Frank DiCicco, spokesman for hubristic developers everywhere.

In short,
DiCicco = dickbag.
Samir Benakmoume = Napoleon w/ a smaller penis and more VD.
Streets Department = chickenshit.
Wheelchair bound people = fucked.
South Street and 13th = deathtrap.
Rich, white tenants of the good ship = happy w/ a terrace (ramp) that they'll probably never use, cause then they'd have to sit within view of people who have a different skin tone than them.




Wednesday, June 13, 2007

South Philly = Rhodes

Whoo hoo!
Apparently, my 'hood is about to become the fancy, bona fide doorway to center city that everyone wants it to be.
Wait, did I say everyone? I meant, ALMOST NO ONE.

Notice that this collossal monument of hubris is brought to you by none other than Frank DiCicco, local councilman. This is precisely my problem w/ DiCicco. He's blatantly pro-business, pro-development, pro-whatever will line his district and pockets with more $. And he is so at the expense of the opinions of the people he represents.

While there's nothing at all wrong with being pro-casino, or pro-development, or pro-this-new-project, having that stance when it directly conflicts with the overwhelming majority of the people you represent is NOT ok. It's not democracy. Yes, he later changed course on the casino deal, but never forget that he was one of the biggest proponents of the deal at first. I can imagine him changing his stance on this come next election cycle, but meanwhile everything he's done since the election demonstrates his total disdain for his constituency. He's a piece of shit.

And, speaking of pieces of shit...
Fear not, young Fado dwellers! Roofie coolattas are back on the menu.

Here endeth the rant.